Ban the Burqua: parliamentary petition published.

James Bond
6 min readOct 19, 2020

In May 2018 I was attacked by 5 guys disguised in burquas. I gave them a pasting but since they were covered up they can’t be identified and the police can’t do anything.

As such I’ve set up a parliamentary petition to ban the burqua. Under the procedure, if you get 10,000 signatures then the government has to respond. If you get 100,000 signatures then they will consider listing it for parliamentary debate. I worded it very carefully.

Ban wearing full-face coverings in public places.

Very recently the Sri Lankan and Tunisian governments have banned full-face coverings and coverings where only the eyes can be seen in public places for security reasons. We should too. These are not to be confused with face masks for covid.

What is the difference between a hijab, a niqab and a burqua?

The niqab and burqa are garments worn by women of Jewish and Islamic faith. It is commonly thought that only women of Islamic faith wear them. That is not true. They are worn by Jewish women too. Often forcibly.

This video explains the difference.

Why I object to the burqua and niqab.

  • They are a security risk
  • They’ve been banned in several Islamic countries for security reasons.
  • There is no religious requirement.
  • Health

Here you can see some men disguised in face coverings robbing jewellers. Clearly, the police can’t do much since the suspects can’t be identified.

Despite the serious nature of this, I find it somewhat hilarious that a suspected terrorist went to a mosque in normal male clothes, donned a burqa and left. People thought he was a woman. (3)

The videos below show both these cases.

Why I think it should be banned- security.

In May 2018 I was attacked by a bunch of guys wearing burquas. I could only tell they were male because of their voices. I gave them a pasting. The problem here was someone came to drive them off. The problem here is that the police can’t do anything since the assailants can’t be identified. However, I would say if you are going to set on me at least challenge me.

Banned in Islamic countries for security reasons.

Tunisia is an Islamic country that has banned the niqab for security reasons (4) (5.) Sri Lanka did the same. (6) The Islamic countries of Cameroon, Chad, Congo, Niger and Turkey have banned it on security grounds (7.) That always shuts up those who cite the religious argument. How can it be a religious requirement if several Islamic countries have banned it?

No religious requirement

If you see Here’s the truth behind the veil (8) written An Associate Professor of Islamic studies it is written that the only thing that comes remotely close to a Burqa in the Quran is a WHITE garment called a purdah which is to protect a woman against sunburn or a sandstorm. There is no religious requirement.

Even Dr Taj Hargey, the Imam of the Oxford Islamic Congregation and the Director of the Muslim Educational Centre of Oxford opposes it (9) and if you see his article called Why I, as a Muslim, am launching a campaign to ban the burka in Britain you’ll see why if you click that link.

That really shuts up those who bring up the religious argument.

Why I think it should be banned on health grounds.

From a health point of view that lady is not exposed to sunlight. She can’t make vitamin D. She can’t absorb calcium and under the weight of the body the bones of the leg can bow- it’s called rickets and in severe cases it is life-threatening. (10)

From a mental health point of view by banning a young girl from showing her face in public there is a risk of self-esteem issues and self-worth issues arising.

What is the difference between the objection to a burqua or niqab and a nun’s habit?

A nun wears the habit from the age of 18 voluntarily as an act of devotion to God and if she chooses to remove it there is no penalty. The habit does not cover the face and poses no health or security risk.

A burqa or niqab can be forced on a young girl from an early age and if she does remove it the result can be fatal as this case study shows.

A case study on forced burqua wearing-in response to a youtube video on burqa wearing.

I am a 3rd generation ex Muslim and I grew up in Leicestershire. By 3rd generation I mean that my grandparents were Muslim immigrants, their son-my Dad- married a UK born and raised Muslim woman. However, are these women saying that no Muslim woman has been oppressed?

My brother and Dad used to thump me like crazy and said they could do so because of their religion. In fact, the Imam used to teach all men at the mosque to beat their wives and female relatives if we didn’t obey them. My brother once made a video of me in the shower and showed it to all his male Muslim friends for money! I was told when I refused to wear a burqua that they would cut my face with razor blades and pour acid on my face. I was thumped black and blue when I even tried to make up when I was invited to my friend’s sister’s wedding. I joked that I would find my future husband there.

My Dad thumped me saying I would marry who he chose whether I liked it or not. My uncles raped me as punishment and threatened to kill me if I told anyone. I was woken by the priest inside me and he shouted out Allah Akbar. My mother told me I should have been killed for dishonouring the family.

When I was 13 I was taken to India with my four-year-old cousin. I was to be taken across the border to Pakistan to be forced to marry a 42-year-old. My four-year-old cousin was due to have female circumcision.

Luckily there is a nice thing called Skype and I got onto the instant messenger. I contacted my best friend and she asked for my address. Within hours her cousin who happened to be in India at the time turned up with some armed thugs, took me and my cousin to safety. You should have seen this guy in action-it was like watching Bruce Lee- but better! Mind you his name is James Bond! The first thing he did was take my cousin by the hand and put her in the care of a young woman who was with the armed thugs.

We were brought back home taken into care and fostered. The first thing I did was burn my hijabs and burquas and ate a hamburger and pork sausages! I then turned a vegetarian!!! I felt free because for the first time in my life I could talk to boys outside my family. I went on holiday and I wore a bikini. I felt free. It's only when you escape Islam you realise how oppressed you are. Any Islamic woman who thinks she is not oppressed is deluded. You only realise how oppressed you are when you leave that prison they call Islam! I have converted to Christianity. My family have said that since I left the religion and dishonoured them they will kill me if they see me again. They also lost a huge amount of money because I didn’t go through the arranged marriage. That’s why I have a new name etc and hide my photo on social media.

My family are under a restraining order-they are not allowed to come anywhere near me or my cousin.

Action points.

UK Citizens

If you are in the UK and you are a UK citizen then please sign this parliamentary petition https://petition.parliament.uk/petitions/552494

Once you have signed it then please text the link to 20 of your friends.

Bibliography

  1. NP Explainer: Difference between the hijab, niqab & burka https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-RevADaZsZ4
  2. Robbers dressed in burkas raid jewellery armed with machetes — Daily Mail https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=prIt8dxqvdI March 15 2018
  3. Terror Suspect ‘Escapes Mosque In Burka’ 4 November 2013 https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QUu3btYrQb4
  4. Tunisia bans Niqab in government buildings https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tmUn7Vp6xoE
  5. Tunisia bans the niqab veil in ‘public institutions’ and government buildings for ‘security reasons https://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-7216705/Tunisia-bans-niqab-veil-public-institutions.html?ito=social-facebook&fbclid=IwAR27k0rZWvFqikgWH9Qz9ue_Iuc23Xyop49R2keSNAuc8TXgb–oRAatdQE. (Date checked 5th July 2019)
  6. Sri Lanka attacks: Face coverings banned after Easter bloodshed https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-asia-48088834 (Date checked 5th July 2019)
  7. Burka bans: The countries where Muslim women can’t wear veils. Daily Telegraph. https://www.telegraph.co.uk/women/life/burka-bans-the-countries-where-muslim-women-cant-wear-veils/?fbclid=IwAR1HLyPRBwJ3AvveBeN8nxWuV_Ghm8RCjGg-FSfVpyqA-Tj2Ief39fYgCa0 (Date checked 5th July 2019)
  8. The truth behind the veil https://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/world/middle-east/Heres-the-truth-behind-the-veil/articleshow/5516489.cms (Date checked 5th July 2019)
  9. Why I, as a Muslim, am launching a campaign to ban the burka in Britain https://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2695181/Why-I-Muslim-launching-campaign-ban-burka-Britain.html
  10. Burkas ‘are bad for your health’https://metro.co.uk/2007/07/18/burkas-are-bad-for-your-health-532757/ (Date checked 5th July 2019)
  11. Rickets problem
    CBC News: The National
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4W8cjQ6iQAo

--

--