How on earth can ethnic minorities find Christmas offensive?

James Bond
3 min readNov 30, 2023
Photo by Clint Patterson on Unsplash

It's 30th November. It’s that time of year again. Tomorrow is 1st December- the month of Christmas.

It’s that time of year when people say that Christmas is offensive to ethnic minorities. Indeed I always laugh when people say happy holidays to me and I say happy Christmas back. I have to tell them that I don’t find Christmas offensive. Indeed, a few days ago someone asked Canadian Prime Minister Justin Trudeau if Christmas was racist. (1.)

During lockdown, senior civil servants tried to advise the government not to use the term Christmas (2.)

I have one question for those think tanks to pose such questions.

How on earth can anyone say that ethnic minorities find Christmas offensive? We don’t find Christmas offensive (3.) In many denominations of Hinduism, it is believed that Jesus Christ is a reincarnation of Lord Vishnu. How on earth would they find Christmas offensive? In Islam, Jesus Christ is a very important prophet.

--

--