I changed my view when I was a medical student

James Bond
2 min readOct 1, 2022

--

When I was a teenager I went to a catholic school. I was a bit of a rebel to start off with. Everyone in the school was anti-abortionist. Just to wind people up I said I was pro-abortion. However, after a few incidents, I kept my views to myself.

I changed my mind on this when I was a medical student and physically saw several terminations of pregnancies. I can’t begin to tell you what went through my mind. Nobody and I mean nobody — even the most ardent anti-abortionist- objects to a termination of pregnancy if it will put the mother’s life in danger.

However, with the incredible range and availability of contraception available, we really should be promoting them. The best thing you can do is reduce your number of partners. If you meet a new partner then use condoms until you are in a stable relationship. At that point both get yourselves checked up for infections. If you don’t have any then you can choose another form of contraception. Most importantly stay faithful. If we all do this then we can eliminate this problem.

In some parts of the USA, they are promoting the virginity movement where boys and girls stay innocent until marriage and then stay faithful for life. That is by far the best way of preventing this but in this day and age, I don’t think it’s going to happen!

--

--