Photo by Vlad Deep on Unsplash

Let’s end this recession by shopping locally

James Bond
3 min readJan 17, 2024

--

Let’s do something to keep trade local. Please read to the end and write your comments below.

A few weeks ago, my insurance broker sent me a letter saying he was retiring and would no longer be doing home contents and buildings insurance. Now one of my neighbours on my street is an insurance broker. His office is in our local shopping center. All I did was get last year’s documentation took it to him. He asked me a bunch of questions and said there was no problem to organize it. To my pleasant surprise, the cost came down.

However, I would have taken it even if the cost rose a bit. Let me explain why. I have annoyed a family member who told me to go to a price comparison website by the way. However, I don’t just look at the financial figure. I take more into consideration.

This guy lives on my road, I actually, know where he lives so I doubt very much he’d rip me off.

However, this helps keep him in business. It means he can keep hiring his two staff. It means he and his staff can go and get their lunch at the café next door. It means that the café can keep getting their supplies from the local grocer 4 doors down. That results in more money being deposited at the local post office and my broker sending out more documentation through that post office. The list goes on and on.

--

--