Please don’t use supermarket self-service checkouts

James Bond
1 min readApr 13, 2023

I promise you that I will never go to a self-service checkout as long as I live. In any event, they do not save time. I used to be a supermarket packer. The fastest way to bag your shopping is to go to a checkout where someone is unloading their trolley. As they bag their stuff you empty your trolley onto the conveyor belt. Then you bag your stuff at the other end as the person behind you unloads. when I was a supermarket packer if a large number of people were queuing up I would arrange for this to happen and you will not believe how much faster it is.

By using them you are putting people out of work. That person behind the counter is someone’s son or someone’s daughter. It could be your son or daughter. Would you put your son or daughter out of work?

--

--