ULEZ will do no good for public health- if anything it will worsen it.

James Bond
6 min readApr 13, 2024

On Thursday 2nd May 2024 many people in the UK will go to the polls in local and mayoral elections. A very contentious issue is the introduction of Ultra Low Emission Zones, Clean Air Zones, Low Traffic Networks and a blanket 20 mile an hour speed limit imposed all across Wales. They have all been introduced in Labour controlled areas of the UK.

Please accept my apologies for the length of this post. I’ve been quite prolific in posting my opposition to ULEZ, CAZ and 20mph zones. Let me detail the following.

· What I would like you to do on 2nd May.

· Why they will do nothing for public health.

· If it’s about air quality there are far better alternatives.

· One big question.

· The example of Luxembourg.

· The example of the New Zealand government.

· The example of Sheffield between the 1960s and 1980s.

· They should know that 20 mile per hour zones do nothing for public safety.

· A conflict in Sadiq Khan’s policy

What I would like you to do on 2nd May.

On Thursday 2nd of May irrespective of where you live in the UK it is very important you vote…

--

--